Crisis Averted

Lister: “SHE RIDES!”
Rimmer: “You jammy goit.”
– “
White Hole”, Red Dwarf

My laptop lives to blog another day, baby! The fault was resolved, no data was lost (thank god), and at least one review will be out next week. I know this matters little in the grand scheme of things (I mean, come on, Sean Spicer quit today, depriving the world of a prime source for memes), but I just wanted to provide some closure to those that might have been a tiny bit worried. (OK, that’s not many people, but still.)

Amazingly, despite being without my normal laptop the past three days, I did not descend (further) into insanity. I used my iPhone to surf the web and stuff (personal discomfort with typing full-blown posts on my phone kept me from posting a review), fired up my XBOX One and played some video games, and even took to Hulu to watch some TV shows. I mention that last part because, while I did catch some Star Vs. The Forces of Evil and Star Trek: TNG, I did begin to watch one particular science fiction show that I’ve been dying to watch for a while.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 2.53.43 PM

I’ve “only” seen seven episodes as of this post (I’ve never been one to binge-watch), but Cowboy Bebop has managed to pique me so far. For the uninitiated, the show revolves around a group of destitute bounty hunters aboard the Bebop. They try and take down criminals to earn their keep, pay off their debts, etc. In effect, it’s a western IN SPACE!

The character development is impressive, the soundtrack is sublime, the animation is memorable, the balance between comedy and drama is spot on… in short, I’m really liking it. I don’t know if I’ll be reviewing it in the future (if at all), but I’m not ruling it out.

So, where was I? Oh, yeah – the laptop lives. We now return you to your regularly scheduled program.

Leave a Reply

