The Review Nebula’s Spring Cleaning

Just a bit of an FYI – over the past few days, I’ve gone back through the blog archive, a process I intend to continue over the next few weeks.

Don’t worry, I’m not getting rid of any posts. What I am doing is thumbing through and tidying up my old reviews. These changes are largely typo-related and grammatical in nature – correcting old spelling errors, adjusting issues with grammar, and things like that. I’m also fixing broken image files as well as correcting broken hyperlinks when possible.

With that in mind, there are a couple of instances where I eliminated or corrected incorrect information, or added a bit more context that I might have missed the first time around. I’ve also deleted small, redundant phrases in some of my earlier works, as well as adjusted phrasing in occasional cases. That said, the core of the reviews are not being edited – they reflect the opinions I held at the time. In the case of the opinions that I have since reassessed, particularly my reviews from the first two years of operation, I feel it inappropriate to edit my past in such a dramatic fashion. Let it stand as a museum of what I thought when I published those reviews. If I feel the need to revisit my opinions, I might publish “revisited” postings on certain topics. (I kind of partially did that with my ranking of Red Dwarf on that show’s 35th anniversary; several of my opinions have shifted in the near decade since I first reviewed those episodes.)

So if you notice some of the reviews are very slightly different than you remember, you know why. This isn’t really a George Lucas remastering so much as it is a Star Trek-style remastering. That said, my core opinion reigns supreme – be careful when reading anything I posted before, say, mid-2015… because there is a good chance you will cringe.

4 thoughts on “The Review Nebula’s Spring Cleaning

  1. Sean Sohr March 12, 2024 / 5:25 PM

    We all have those things we look back at and cringe….

    I can’t even look at most of my pre-2022 art anymore (and I’m sure that’ll change as time goes on and I keep getting better and better).

    I’m 22 and I’m such a radically different person from who I was even just a year ago. It’s just part of being human. I used to have pretty shit grammar myself too.

    You were pretty young when you started this blog, right? Like a teenager? When you start a blog that young, it’s bound to happen!

    Like

  2. misterwishart March 15, 2024 / 7:31 AM

    ….a white hole???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mr. B March 15, 2024 / 8:05 AM

      “Every action has an equal and opposite reaction. A black hole sucks time and matter out of the universe – a white hole returns it.”

      Liked by 1 person

      • misterwishart March 15, 2024 / 8:20 AM

        “So it’s decided then: We consult Holly”

        Liked by 1 person

Feel Free to Comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.